Widows - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Widows Reviews

Page 1 of 5
November 18, 2018
Not a very good movie. The plot becomes stupid. The men are all steroetyed. People were yawning and verbally moaning. What a waste of a great caste.
½ November 18, 2018
Widows takes a skewered scope to heist films showing true underdogs, showing their actions through fear rather than wealth and glory.
November 17, 2018
Widows is an excellent action/drama/heist/poetic justice movie.
Viola Davis and Liam Neeson are soooo gooood!
I did not know Viola Davis was so buff!
½ November 17, 2018
Acclaimed auteur Steve McQueen follows up his Best-Picture-winning masterpiece "12 Years A Slave" with "Widows," one of the year's stronger, yet still frustratingly lacking cinematic experiences. You get so much to chew on as a filmgoer. It's shot and performed adeptly, and features one of the best final acts I've seen in a film so far this year. But if I'm being honest, there were some character dynamics I just didn't care for, and one scene in particular that's just so poorly conceived that I had to drop the film down another half-point. It's not a bad film by any stretch, and I appreciated a lot of the attention to detail (eapcially with the setting) but I just couldn't help but feel a tad disappointed with the final product.
½ November 17, 2018
Was absolutely awful. Slowest movie ever. One camera shooting style was annoying. Bad, bad, bad.
November 17, 2018
Another terrible movie, what must we do to get a decent movie these days?
November 17, 2018
I like this movie but it is far from perfect!!! I think that the acting was very well done, the storyline was pretty solid. The juiciest story was between Viola Davis and Liam Neason two people who have different ideas about who the other one really is, I don't want to give too much away, but I think that that this movie sort of glossed over the race relations and gender differences in favor of a well paced heist movie. In fact I kind of felt that members of a particular "sex" were acting ........ dumb for no reason! It was annoying I thought they were clowns. My take on this movie is that people are ,,,,,,,,, weird!!! I wish it there was deeper motivations and meaning, but it delivers in other ways I guess! It reminds me of the Departed but not as good.
November 17, 2018
Great movie a must see very well written.
November 17, 2018
This is one of the best action movies with an incredible subplot. Im from Chicago and found the setting and characters to be amazingly spot on
November 17, 2018
This movie took you down disjointed paths that took forever to come together. Extremely slow. Too much filler that didnďż 1/2(TM)t make sense and the language got old. Ultimately we walked out and got our money back.
November 17, 2018
I hated it. Aftet the first hour i felt like walking out, but was with the wife. She dodnt alike it either.
November 17, 2018
Not sure why this was rated so high. The movie was decent but there are many plot holes and twists that don't make sense. ultimately the team tried too hard
½ November 17, 2018
A few characters are given the shaft with such a large cast, but Steve McQueen sure knows how to make a movie.
November 17, 2018
I appreciate the talent of the actors and director, but this movie was simply marketed all wrong. I expected an upbeat, action movie with empowered women seeking vengeance for their husbands' deaths. This is not that. It was slow, artsy, and more about the political motivations in a community divided by race. Which if that's what you're looking for, it's well done and you'll enjoy that. But that's not the show the trailers sold, and I'm disappointed that I fell for the ruse.
November 17, 2018
Loved it. Love also tbe diverse cast
November 17, 2018
Horrible waste of time. The preview had all the best cliche lines and it went on forever. It was the worst 18 hours of my life and I sat through most of Rhinestone Cowboy!
November 17, 2018
sounds good would like to see this one
½ November 17, 2018
Longest movie of my life. The story had some interesting angles to it. But, wow, it was so slow, and I cared so little about any of the characters that I couldnâ(TM)t stop thinking about how I was wasting so much time watching what should have been a TV movie. I use to trust rotten tomatoe ratings, but no more.
½ November 17, 2018
It makes decent use of its long takes and editing, but when itâ(TM)s lead character is a downer, the rest of the characters lack chemistry, and the writing needs re-writing, Widows ends up being sluggish, unsatisfying and not very fun or insightful.
November 17, 2018
Passable heist thriller with some interesting scenes but overly long and a bit predicable. Quite overrated by critics.
Page 1 of 5