Overlord - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Overlord Reviews

Page 1 of 8
November 20, 2018
Enjoyable...I didn't care about a single character in this movie, and I didn't care who got blown up...I didn't feel invested, but it was action-heavy enough and well-acted enough to appreciate...once it commits, it's really entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 20, 2018
Overlord is a fun film. It's really well done, exciting, gruesome, and all of the things you were looking to see...it's tonally consistent with the trailers.
November 20, 2018
... a cracking yarn that meshes the war and horror genres and comes up with an absolute belter of a flick.
Full Review | Original Score: 16/20
November 19, 2018
Not for the nervous and not for the kids, Overlord is for action enthusiasts and "creature feature" fans. If you're among them, it's a don't-miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 19, 2018
At its core, the film's ambitions get in the way of its execution, and Overlord never quite lives up to the tonal shifts and mash-up elements that it attempts to convey.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 19, 2018
Overlord is smart and vicious...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 19, 2018
Overlord, penned by Billy Ray and Mark L. Smith and directed by Julius Avery, is everything we say we want in our mainstream multiplex fare. It's also a damn good movie that deserves your time and money.
November 19, 2018
Overlord, while not delivering what the advertisements seem to promise, is still a great couple of hours of entertainment that does not have to depend on being gross or gory to succeed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 19, 2018
The movie doesn't score major points for originality, but it's a good time nonetheless for those of us who enjoy seeing bad things done to Nazi types.
November 16, 2018
he only thing that disappointed me about the film is that Paramount didn't spend the big bucks to advertise it. Overlord is the type of film that becomes a cult classic. One that you can watch over and over again without growing tired.
November 16, 2018
Overlord takes many elements you've seen before and creates a mashup that's able to deliver some gory fun, riveting suspense, zombie horrors, and terrifying depictions of modern war in equal measure.
November 15, 2018
It helps to be in the mood for a period Nazi zombie shoot-'em-up but it's very successful at being a bit of fun and bloody counterprogramming.
November 15, 2018
Overlord's combination of heavy artillery and horrid creatures should prove to be pretty irresistible. When it comes to B-Movies, nasty, brutish, and short all count as positive traits.
November 15, 2018
It does deliver action and some scares along the way. I am not a horror film fan, but this was not bad.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 15, 2018
Julius Avery directs this high-energy, low-imagination genre mashup, a combination of Inglourious Basterds and Planet Terror that is not nearly as fun as that description might imply.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 14, 2018
Overlord packs monstrous frights into a claustrophobic WWII setting to deliver a thrill ride audiences won't soon forget.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
November 14, 2018
Overlord harkens back to a time when horror didn't have to be thought-provoking or nightmare inducing-because if there's one thing we sometimes forget about the monsters under our bed, it's that they can be a lot of fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 14, 2018
Even though Overlord's action isn't super scary, it takes the viewer on one hell of a ride. If it was a video game, I'd give it a try. Overlord is not this year's Get Out, but it'll do.
November 14, 2018
The imprimatur of J.J. Abrams notwithstanding, Overlord is so been-there-done-that that a more fitting title might've been World War ZZZ.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 14, 2018
Altogether, Overlord is exactly what you would want and expect a movie about zombies created by Nazis to be: a deranged, disgusting delight.
Page 1 of 8