Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Reviews

Page 1 of 11
November 18, 2018
About as exciting as a trip to Hogwarts's most neglected lavatory.
November 18, 2018
While the action set pieces and effects are dizzyingly immersive, the storytelling is fussy and somehow uncompelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 17, 2018
[Has] plenty of CGI wizardry but precious little cinematic magic.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 17, 2018
The movie jumps from one dizzying sequence to the next with little care about a cohesive story or throughline. It's a discombobulated mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 17, 2018
The Crimes of Grindelwald is far from a perfect adventure, but its pleasures are no less potent than those of its fellows.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 17, 2018
Thank goodness for all those still extra special effects and filmmaking magicians behind the scenes. They just might keep some wandering minds away from such convoluted storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 17, 2018
The characters are confusing and the plot unnecessarily convoluted. As a result, it's ominous and cumbersome, as chaos reigns.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
November 17, 2018
I'm still with it-for now. I'm going to believe Rowling is taking this route of undermining her protagonists with purpose, but she better prove it to me in the next one.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
November 17, 2018
Welcome to Fantastic Films And Where To Find Them, as somewhere in here are several compelling stories trying to get noticed, yet sinking under the weight of everything else. There are some magical delights (especially Jude Law's Dumbledore).
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 17, 2018
It's a hot mess. The Crimes Of Grindelwald suffers from an excess of ideas but no solid narrative to hold them together. Easily the worst film of the franchise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 17, 2018
I'm not going to say it's the worst movie I've ever seen; but it's very possibly the worst prequel - the new low-point for expository, minutiae-obsessed, continuity-porn, anti-narrative in the "Cinematic Universe" era of blockbuster film making.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5
November 16, 2018
... nothing negates the fact that the crux of the film is located in a handful of key scenes and the last 30 minutes of the movie, making more than two-thirds of the picture noticeably superfluous.
November 16, 2018
Sadly, Crimes of Grindelwald does not work on its own merits. Fans of the franchise will still find an enjoyable adventure in their beloved Wizarding World.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 16, 2018
The story lumbers along without urgency, Yates and Rowling believing they've earned the audience's loyalty just by using the Harry Potter font in the titles
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 16, 2018
Talented writer though she is, Rowling doesn't seem to be capable of cramming what would be a 900-page book into a 135-minute movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 16, 2018
This movie is the cinematic equivalent to reading Rowling's tiresome retcon tweets: trite, laboured, unnecessary, and sometimes even offensive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
November 16, 2018
Rowling's script was the real problem here.
Full Review | Original Score: C
November 16, 2018
You don't feel the horror or the charisma. I love the Harry Potter universe and I wish I could recommend this film with greater enthusiasm. It's competent but not enchanting enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 16, 2018
At this point it just seems like the films are being made to cross off a list. [Full Review in Spanish]
November 16, 2018
...the real crime here is that we all deserve better...from this franchise, from J.K. Rowling, and just in general.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Page 1 of 11